< Back to SurvivalTravel.com
Last Updated: September 26, 2015
Personal Information about our users is an integral part of our business. We neither rent nor sell your Personal Information to anyone, though, as described more fully in this section below (under "Publicly Available Information, the SurvivalTravel API, and Apps"), your publicly-available information is available to third parties, and we may provide it to third parties, by license or otherwise. The default user profile settings for all data about you that is visible to others is summarized in the following (note that some elements are optional or can be edited):
(note if your account is registered with oAuth authentication from a third party such as facebook; your name, photo, gender, home city/state/country will be fetched to autofill your profile information)
SurvivalTravel deals with location, so in order to work, SurvivalTravel needs to know your location. Whenever you open and use/interact with the SurvivalTravel app on your mobile device or go to SurvivalTravel.com, we use the location information from your mobile device or browser (e.g., latitude and longitude) to tailor the SurvivalTravel experience to your current location (i.e., we’ll show you a list of nearby locations, friends and tips). This information is NOT shared with others. The SurvivalTravel app will, from time to time, tell us about your device’s location so that we can inform you of things of interest near you even if you are not directly interacting with the application.
Your location data is ONLY shared with others when you proactively decide to upload your photo to SurvivalTravel. Each photo upload can be tag with the GPS coordinates and place name. The public will have access to these photos that you have uploaded. You can delete the photos you have uploaded in the detail page or screen of the photo.
SurvivalTravel can also acquire your friends list so that you are able to invite them onto SurvivalTravel. SurvivalTravel will/may request permission from you to acquire these friends contact for the invitation purpose.
Your SurvivalTravel account Personal Information is protected by a password for your privacy and security. You need to prevent unauthorized access to your account and Personal Information by selecting and protecting your password appropriately, and limiting access to your computer and browser by signing off after you have finished accessing your account.
SurvivalTravel endeavors to safeguard user information to ensure that user account information is kept private. However, SurvivalTravel cannot guarantee the security of user account information. Unauthorized entry or use, hardware or software failure, and other factors, may compromise the security of user information at any time.
If you are located outside of the United States, please note that this site is hosted on our computer servers in the United States. Therefore, your information may be processed and stored in the United States. As a result, United States federal and state governments, courts, or law enforcement or regulatory agencies may be able to obtain disclosure of your information through laws applicable in the United States. Your use of this site or the Service or your submission of any Personal Information to us will constitute your consent to the transfer of your Personal Information outside of your home country, including the United States, which may provide for different data protection rules than in your country.
SurvivalTravel allows you to access the following information about you for the purpose of viewing, and in certain situations, updating that information and ensuring that it is accurate and complete. You can access this information on the SurvivalTravel profile settings page. This list will change as our Service changes.
If you have questions about the Personal Information we have collected from you, you can email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Even after you remove information from your account or profile, copies of that information may remain viewable elsewhere, to the extent it has been shared with others, it was otherwise distributed pursuant to your privacy settings, or it was copied or stored by other users. Removed and deleted information may remain on backup media.
If you have any questions or concerns regarding privacy using the Service, please send a detailed message to: email@example.com. We will make every effort to resolve your concerns.